Books

Me Before You

This book just about killed me. I’m not kidding. I’ve read a lot of books. A lot. Many of them have had enjoyable stories, made me think, made me feel, and made me question different aspects of my own life. This book? It did all of those things.

Louisa Clark is a 26-year-old cafe worker, who abruptly loses her job and agrees to interview to be the care-taker to a wealthy disabled man. Will Trainor is a 35-year-old former corporate businessman. Having loved everything about the outdoors, traveling, adventures, he is described as having “lived a big life.”

The thing about this book is: you can identify with both of the main characters. It took me three nights to read this book, that’s it. I could not put it down, and…

I cried. I have never cried while reading, ever. Until this week. There were tears, and there was a whole range of emotions to question. If you’re looking for a book that’ll make you feel all of the feelings, read. this. book. I cannot say it enough.

Piece of Advice: This book is by a British author, so if you’ve never read any Brit lit, you may want to have google handy for some of the language used…


Synopsis (from Amazon):
They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Previous Story
Next Story

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: